Sure you have a lot on your plate, but leave room for your salad.

A blog for owners & managers of litigation support businesses by experts on using technology to improve your profitability, efficiency and effectiveness in a unique marketplace.

RB9 Named User Licenses

RB9 users sign in through their browser using their own user ID and password. Each user must have their own user license to have their own unique user ID and password.

Different from RB8 user licenses

This is a change from RB8, in which users can share a license because the system stored their user credentials separately from user licenses. As long as the number of users logged into RB8 simultaneously is no more than the number of user licenses a company owns, different users can share licenses — for example, when one person works days and the other works evenings.

RB9 is a browser-based application, so the rules are different. It is completely different technology: You connect to RB9 through a web server first; RB9 send you information; then it disconnects. It cannot track the number of concurrent connections; it can only track individual users’ right to access the program.

This means each license is tied to a user ID and password — just like other applications or services on the web: If you subscribe to/are a member of, you have your own user ID and password to access these online applications and services.

Do not share licenses

While it is possible to share licenses similarly to RB8, we do not recommend it for 2 main reasons:

  1. Inaccurate audit trail

    Since each user license is tied to a single user ID, all activities that occur with that sign-in are tracked to that user ID. If more than one person uses the same sign-in credentials, your audit trail will not be accurate. You cannot tell which person was using the license at which time if both share the same user ID and password.

  2. Lost work

    If a person logs into RB9 using the same user credentials as someone who is already in the system, the first person will be logged out immediately, losing whatever unsaved work product they had. There is no warning or option to save before the new person takes over the license.

What’s new in RB9 modules:

Plus what else is new about RB9:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

by . Posted in RB9.

Tagged with

Follow us on Facebook